Rooted Vacation

August 11, 2013 § 8 Comments

cloudskayaksfenced inIt’s been a while, hasn’t it?

I’ve been home for a full week now and I only have one week left. I’ve been relaxing in the comforts of the home I grew up in. I’ve been really happy. I’m currently taking yoga classes at this amazing studio that only offers heated classes (ranging from vinyasa to power, and of course, bikram). I’m definitely seeing some results with my mood and fitness (even if I have bad days, I’m grateful I get to practice).

I spent a really great day trip with my family yesterday in Mendocino County. I wrote about this charming region in California in an article on Trekity, Four Secret Ways to Explore Mendocino County. Going there was high on my list of priorities to say the least.

skunk train2

the view from here

still

coral things

feet

glass

fences

The drive going there and the local sights were so beautiful. I am also convinced that just about everything is much more beautiful when things are just barely waking up.

We went on a ride on the world famous Skunk Train, walked around Glass Beach, and went to see some historical artifacts at the Guest House Museum. I wish I got to stay for longer! Next time, I’m definitely going kayaking.

me

Long sleeve shirt from Free People | Tights are by Champion | Sneakers are from Puma | Windbreaker-type jacket from a gift shop for the Skunk Train by Cheneral

This is in no way a perfect expression of vrksasana. Don’t be fooled by my smile. I’m absolutely terrified of somehow falling into the ocean in this picture (which is something that would happen to me). The kid behind me was so brave. He was jumping and running around the rocks at Glass Beach as if he had spent his whole life there.

Anyway, thanks for reading! Until next time.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Rooted Vacation

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rooted Vacation at Desert Days.

meta

